New Generation Thinkers 2016

I’m really pleased to announce that I’ve been selected as one of this year’s BBC/AHRC New Generation Thinkers

The scheme was set up by the BBC and the Arts and Humanities Research Council to find promising young academics to make radio programmes about their research.

Competition is very intense and I was really surprised to be chosen – as part of the top ten pc of young academics in the UK – to attend workshops in March.

At the workshop we had to pitch programme ideas, think about how to present our research and even take part in a fast-paced debate to see how we might respond on air if we were chosen.

The day was really amazing and I met some really interesting people and heard about a lot of really incredible research. By the end of the day I knew that I really wanted to be an NGT but I never dreamed I’d make it to the final ten.

Being an NGT will be a great way of communicating my research to lots of people and increasing public awareness of figures like Storm Jameson and the work they did with refugees.

In fact, the Writing the Refugee project is incredibly topical, pulling together so many issues which are relevant today, from the rights and status of refugees to the importance of Europe, ideas about literary value to the role of national culture.

So this represents a great opportunity to stimulate discussion around these ideas and these oft-forgotten figures.

The scheme also draws directly on the sort of researcher I want to be Рone who engages with the public and the media and one whose research is  widely read and enjoyed beyond the academy .

So this represents a great opportunity for me too.

I’m certainly looking forward to a very exciting year as one of the New Generation Thinkers!

Leave a Reply

